Henk-Jan’s soundtrack to 11-20 May 2020

Each day I add music to my soundtrack to 2020 Spotify playlist. Here’s the list for the second batch in May.

Monday 11 May: Moyka – Backwards

Yes, Spaces was featured in April, I know. Like other Moyka songs, her new single Backwards is the infectious kind of synth-pop to dance to. I’m playing Moyka videos and songs a lot these days.

Tuesday 12 May: The Blind Boys of Alabama – Run For a Long Time

I ran 5kms to support Villa Joep and donated €5 today after being challenged by my daughter in the #run5donate5nominate5 campaign.

Wednesday 13 May: Study Playlist – Music for planning your next holiday

After the cancellation of our summer holiday near Genua in Italy, I had to rethink for an alternative. With closed borders with Germany and Belgium for recreational traffic, a vacation break in the Netherlands is the safest option to go for. It kept me busy Monday evening and tonight, but we succeeded.

Thursday 14 May:

It’s #throwbackthursday. I discovered a nice cover of the Talking Heads 1983 hit Such a Shame by Lokka Vox & Charlotte Someone.

Friday 15 May: Starflyer 59 – This Recliner

New music from Starflyer 59!

Saturday 16 May: In Good Faith – I’m Still Alive

Sunday 17 May: Noa – Home-made Religion

I finished reading Elaine Pagels’ Why Religion? this morning. Another weekly live stream church service. Home-made religion, like Noa sung about on her 2000 album Blue touches Blue?

Monday 18 May: Chicane & Moya Brennan – Saltwater – Chicane Slow Tide Remix

The Behind the Sun 202 Anniversary Mixes by Chicane are out. Here’s one of the alternatives to the 2000 Saltwater original featuring Moya Brennan.

Tuesday 19 May: GRACE. – On Repeat

Another day working from home, another press conference with more questions than answers afterward, and still a healthy family.

Wednesday 20 May:

The combination of The Coronas (what’s in a name?) and Gabrielle Aplin reminds me of Oh Wonder. Laidback soft pop.